Itsy-Bitsy, Teenie-Weenie, Fabu-lous Black Bikini

Bathing Suit: Malia Mills

There’s only one month of summer left, but for many of us these dog days are packed with trips to the shore, afternoons in the sun, and late night pool parties.

After months of wear, the same old swimsuits can become a bit boring, or maybe your top was ripped off by a rogue wave, never to be seen again.  Whatever the case, a trip to Malia Mills can remedy your watery woes.  You may remember a certain Saturday night store opening in Brooklyn when I had the opportunity to enter a raffle for a Malia Mills gift card.  As a chronic non-winner of these things, I had all but forgotten about the prize until an email about my good fortune popped up in my inbox.

I finally made the journey to New York to redeem the card last month, and what a pleasant and rewarding experience it was.  The Columbus Ave. location was tiny and cute, with suits, cover-ups, and accessories hanging about and two spacious canvas cabana dressing rooms.  The helpful associates were quick to pull some suit styles for me according to my bra and pant sizes and happily answered any questions I had about style, color, or fit.  Although I tried on four ultra-flattering suits, I knew the first style I put on was it for me.

The brand’s mantra, “Love thy differences” was not lost on me as I felt totally comfortable in the perfectly fitting, and distinctive “Delilah” top and “It’s a Cinch” bottoms.  This is the first truly “tug-less” suit I’ve ever owned and the service and fit showed me why Malia Mills was named “Best Bathing Suits of New York” for 2011.

The personalized service didn’t end when I left the shop, bag in tow.  I received a hand written note congratulating me on my win and sending best wishes for my bikini and me.  Getting my bikini at Malia Mills was smooth sailing.

1 Comment

Filed under Shopping

One response to “Itsy-Bitsy, Teenie-Weenie, Fabu-lous Black Bikini

  1. Eileen

    Great article Caroline and it’s a gorgeous bikini!

Leave a Reply

